A few more macro shots from the weekend…

Just a few more pics from the weekend. There are only a handful but I was quite pleased with my return considering it was my first attempt.

More details about the setup:

  • Canon 500D
  • 50mm f/1.8
  • 430EX II flash
  • ETTL off-camera flash cord
  • Light stand with tilting flash bracket
  • Manfrotto tripod with ball head
  • Rosco flash gels (strobist collection)

Probably the most important piece of equipment aside from the camera/lens is the tripod. If you don’t yet own a tripod, then take my advice and buy the best you can afford. I spent around £150 on mine and it’s worth every penny. If anything, I wish I’d spent a little more and got a carbon fibre one. Anyhow, the point remains the same, buy a good tripod. If you can’t afford a good one, keep saving until you can.

As you can see, the rest of the equipment is quite modest. You can pick up a 50mm 1.8 for around £80 new and the Kenko tubes themselves were £140. A combined total of £220 is a significant saving on Canon’s cheapest dedicated macro lens.

I use my flash in manual mode 90% of the time and this session was no exception. If you don’t already own a flash you can pick up manual flashes very inexpensively on ebay. A light stand is perhaps not essential, but very convenient. A flash in itself is not an absolute requirement for macro photography, but note that you are going to be working at very small apertures and in my case I was working in low light as well. Having some control over your lighting is not a bad thing.

I hope you found that little run-down useful. Expect to see more macro shots in the future!

6 Comments

Filed under Picture of the Moment, Uncategorized

6 responses to “A few more macro shots from the weekend…

  1. Thank you kindly, Jo! You’re the first person ever to call my photographs ‘sensational’! I usually describe them as “ok” or sometimes even “good” but that comes with being British I suppose :)

  2. Oh yes you British are the epitome of understatement…mostly…hehe ;)

  3. Thank you for stopping by my blog. You have a beautiful blog and I look forward to seeing more of your work.

  4. Thanks! I did some signs of spring shots today too, I’ve yet to post them though. They’ll be up over the next couple of days :)

Please leave a comment!

