Fujifilm X-Pro1 – I want one!

Ever since I saw the X-100 in action I’ve had half an eye on it. Unfortunately, it’s not a cheap camera, and is firmly positioned in the “want” rather than “need” category. It also had a few shortcomings which made it even more difficult to justify. It’s never quite left my photographic consciousness though, so when I heard about its successor – the Fujifilm X-Pro1 – I was eager to find out more.

It seems as though the manufacturer has taken on board a lot of the criticisms of the X-100 and made the necessary improvements to the X-Pro1. The X-100 was always described as a “rangefinder style” camera and, rightly or wrongly, a “baby Leica”. The X-Pro1 has become even more “Leica-like” in some of its improvements such as its stealthy black finish and removal of the low-pass filter to improve image resolution. The new camera also features interchangeable lenses (the X-100 had a fixed 35mm f/2.0 equivalent) and will apparently launch with three primes – an 18mm f/2.0, a 35mm f/1.4 and a 60mm f/2.4 macro. The 35mm f/1.4 (which will be equivalent to a standard 50mm prime on the camera) looks to be the pick of the bunch and certainly the one I would pick given a choice out of the three.

Will I end up buying one? It’s hard to say. I love the design, the finish, and all the indications suggest the image quality and performance will be of a high standard for such a camera. I do have one niggling thought though…

It won’t fit in my pocket.

Leave a comment

Filed under Opinions

Please leave a comment!

