Goodbye, Computer

computer macro kenko extension tubes

I lit this with the flash behind the heat sink.

Last weekend I upgraded my computer. It was five years old and still going strong, but when I heard my brother was upgrading his machine I offered him £150 for his old parts because they were better than what I had.

For the geeks among you, I had a Q6600 on an Abit IP35 motherboard with 2GB of RAM. Yes, 2GB of RAM. I came to the conclusion that after trying many different sticks in as many different combinations my motherboard must have been faulty, because it just would not accept more memory. But it didn’t really matter, because I managed just fine for over 5 years and I use big programs like Lightroom (of course) and occasionally edit video.

People make a big fuss about how much memory they have in their computers, and tend to grossly overstate their requirements. I think most of them do so to convince themselves that the nice shiny new Mac or PC they have their eye on is a justified purchase. I’ve been around computers for such a long time that I don’t buy into all the latest high spec gear any more, much like a race car driver wouldn’t be obsessed with owning a high performance car for the road. As long as it comfortably does the job, anything beyond that is a bit of a waste.

canon 17-40 f4 l sample image

An oldie, but a goodie. Even if it was faulty.

My new setup is fairly modest – a last-generation Core i3 processor and 12GB of RAM. I didn’t even look what brand the motherboard was, let alone what model. Going from 2GB to 12GB is a bit of a leap – I’ve got more RAM than I know what to do with now. I’ve been playing with Windows 8 over the last couple of days inside a virtual machine which I allocated 4GB of memory to, just because I could. It amazes me the pace of technology sometimes – our home PCs can run two operating systems, one on top of the other, without batting an eyelid. My first computer had 1MB of RAM!

Anyway, below are some close up shots of the old motherboard. I hope to find it a new home because there is nothing wrong with it, although I don’t think I’ll get much on eBay. I have a friend who collects old parts so I’ll see if he wants it.

I still remember the day I built the computer quite clearly and the sense of relief when it powered up for the first time. Since then it’s done a lot of good work. It might be a soulless commodity, but it has some history.

And I know it’s silly, but I am a little bit sad to see it go.

These were all shot with the 17-40mm f/4 L with a couple of the Kenko tubes fitted. That lens is pretty damn sharp for a zoom.

5 Comments

Filed under Craft

5 responses to “Goodbye, Computer

  1. Getting new electronics is so exciting!! 12 GB of RAM sounds amazing, and I love the close ups of your old baby. 🙂

  2. Yes, although I would have been quite happy with just 4GB! My brother likes to have the latest stuff – he has 8 cores and 16GB of memory now. I’m not complaining because I get cheap upgrades 🙂

    The only problem I have with it is because the layout is different, my wifi adapter is now blocking about 50% of the graphics card fan which causes it to overheat if I try to play a game. I don’t play games very often so it’s not bothering me too much, but it’s something that needs to be fixed eventually. I will probably take the wifi card out completely (it’s quite old) and just buy a dongle to plug into the back.

  3. It’s always great when you know someone who is a total geek, so that the stuff they pass down is better than what most of us are buying new!! 🙂

  4. Pingback: Retina iPad Wallpaper: Technology Theme | Heyes Photo

Please leave a comment!

