Compact Camera Confusion

panasonic lumix lx5

The LX5 is my compact camera of choice at the moment. I've had it for nearly a year.

This is a bit of an “off topic” post, but I really humoured myself yesterday. As part of my day job I’m often required to take photographs, and Friday was one such day.

As much as I’d like to tote a nice DSLR for these assignments I’m limited to using a compact camera. Although perhaps describing the camera as limited is a bit unreasonable – it is a high end compact after all – but anyone who has experience of both will know what I mean.

I turned the mode dial to “S” – or shutter priority mode – to keep my shutter speed high enough to freeze action. Although as evidenced by what I did next, the “S” might just as equally stood for “stupid”.

With a scene quickly unfolding before me I instinctively raised the camera to my eye to frame the shot, only to find myself looking at the back of the hot shoe.

This camera hasn’t got – nor has ever had – a viewfinder.

Lowering the camera back down revealed one of my younger colleagues looking at me as if I was some photographic relic, with an expression that seemed to pose the question…

“I thought you were good with cameras?”

2 Comments

Filed under Craft

2 responses to “Compact Camera Confusion

  1. OMG, I’m sorry but that’s the best laugh I have had in a long time, partly because I’ve done the exact same thing myself!! Thanks for making me smile 🙂

  2. Thanks! I’m telling myself it’s “muscle memory” 😉

Please leave a comment!

