Sod’s Law

Also known as Murphy’s Law. Anybody who has been paying particularly close attention will know that I’ve been using the Lightroom 4 trial for the past 30 days. I ordered my full copy of the new Lightroom from Amazon weeks ago and have been waiting patiently for it to pass through my letterbox ever since. It wasn’t a big deal, though, because you can just input the key when it arrives and continue using the software.

Last night the trial expired and, of course, I had no product key to activate Lightroom and I needed to use it. So I went through the entire rigmarole of uninstalling the trial, finding my copy of Lightroom 3, installing it and then importing all the photographs I have scattered around everywhere all over again.

I get in from work this afternoon and guess what’s waiting for me…

lightroom 4 box

Arrgh!!!

9 Comments

Filed under Off topic

9 responses to “Sod’s Law

  1. It’s Friday the 13th, I think this might be my dose of bad luck for the day! 😉

  2. I even mentioned it yesterday https://heyesphoto.wordpress.com/2012/04/11/adobe-lightroom-raw-edit-71-froknowsphoto/

    I think my postman might be a comment follower 😛

  3. You need to learn to play the law to your advantage.

    Rather than waiting, you could have swapped versions earlier. The end result would have been the same (unload 4 beta, reload 3), but you would have had your key earlier (presuming your assumption of how the “law” works). Just say “take control, man!”, and don’t be a puppet to the law.

  4. Yeah, good point! I almost want to not install it in protest but I suspect it will be on tomorrow night, I have a full day shooting tomorrow day and I suspect I’ll have 10GB+ worth of stuff to import!

  5. The Jagged Man

    There is something to be said about disperser’s advice but as a procrastinator that still would not work for me.
    I am interested in Lightroom and wonder if there is any advice you can give, or a link you can point me to, on the pros and cons verse other photo management software. Thanks!

  6. Jagged Man, would you be buying it to just manage your photos or are you interested in editing them as well?

  7. The Jagged Man

    Managing them for right now but as I move into a DSLR some basic editing tools would be welcome as well.

  8. It’s hard not to recommend Lightroom 4 to be honest, especially at the price and for what you get. The only caveat is that it is a professional piece of software so it will take a bit of time and effort to get to grips with it. If you’re not ready to commit to that extent just yet, you can’t really go wrong with Picasa from Google which is free.

Please leave a comment!

