Phillip Island: Wish I was there…

phillip island australia

Phillip Island. A great end to a great day.

With the explosion of work I’ve had lately it turns out that storage becomes a problem very quickly when you’re gobbling through 4 and 8 gigabyte cards at a time. And not only is capacity an issue, I now have to plan for long-term storage and reliability.

low disk space

Not a good sign.

As you can see, I’ve been living on the edge for a while now. The set up is no longer fit for purpose and aside from ordering some new parts I’ve been scratching my head about how to move 300GB of files to their new home. Part of that process is figuring out if there is anything you can delete.

Anyway, I just so happened to stumble across a stray folder in an old backup that contained a handful of photographs from my trip to Australia years ago. I thought I’d lost the lot! Suffice to say, the plan to get organised went out of the window and I sat clicking through the photos one at a time as the memories came flooding back. The photo above is from Phillip Island which is home to a particular variety of penguin. Yes, penguins in Australia. I even remember exactly where I was stood when I took the photo, and with the magic of Google Maps I can show you too.

Phillip Island

There, see.

I distinctly remember being told “no photography”, in particular flash photography, as it could damage the eyes of the penguins. I took their word for it, but I suspect they made healthy sales of official pictures from the visitors centre. If you Google “phillip island penguins” you can see what they look like.

I also humoured myself a little looking back through my pictures, as this was WAY before I started taking photography seriously. It’s strange looking back at your own photos with a critical eye (I can’t help it) and thinking to yourself what you’d do differently. I shot the whole trip on an Olympus point and shoot set to “Automatic”. I thought I’d include one of my wonky snaps below. Hey, we all start somewhere.

On the way home.

Those were the days.

Oh well, back to ironing my shirts for next week and clearing out the fridge…

7 Comments

Filed under Craft, Off topic

7 responses to “Phillip Island: Wish I was there…

  1. Very funny – I also had an Olympus point and shoot for years before taking photography seriously. Looking back on those old photos has me smiling but also shaking my head, pissed off that they’re not better.

  2. The Jagged Man

    I feel personal your words “Those were the days” mean before we became too critical of our work. In a word I think it means “Simple”. Before things became cluttered and the bar was raised, by us more than others, to a complex equation that equals anything but simple.
    Love the reflection and now off to mow the yard, do the laundry…..

  3. The last picture wasn’t even something I’d planned to take. I was eating takeaway noodles at the time and the tour guide stopped the van and kicked us all off to take the photo opportunity. He must have seen it in his rear view mirror as we were all travelling in the opposite direction. Notice we are at the side of the road (Aussies drive on the left, the same as us) This is the classic, one handed tourist snap. I’ve even put the horizon line slap bang in the centre of the frame! But then, non-photographers don’t strive to create an image. As you say, the motivations are simpler – to document. I do sometimes wish I had the chance to take some again though. One night, I took the overnight train to Sydney. I was drifting in and out of sleep and at one point I woke up to see miles and miles of rolling hills out of the window illuminated only by moonlight. I’d never seen anything like it in my life, to the point I wasnt quite sure if I was dreaming. I wish I’d had the presence of mind to take a picture, but then I don’t think I could have ever done it justice. Some things are just best left remembered.

  4. What a trip down memory lane…. I grew up at Cowes, Phillip Island. I was married there. My mum and grandparents are buried there. I haven’t been there since moving north, but it is such a great place. As a kid I used to surf with the penguins (before they built the penguin reserve and started charging tourists lots of money to see them).

  5. Hey Heyes, I just wanted to say Thank You for Contributing to “The Dark Globe”… And Thanks for also Following it… It’s June Follower’s Appreciation Month over there, you should Check it out

    DarkJade-

  6. Wow what a great place to grow up. I spent a couple of hours there and I seem to remember lots of trees lining the sides of road. It’s very odd as an Englishman seeing signs for places like Cowes, Rhyll and Newhavern on route as these places are very far apart back home! I have a picture of the Isle of Wight hotel as well, but I believe this burned down a few years ago? What a shame.

    I always regret not getting a portion of flake and chips while I was there… I only found out what flake was after I returned home. I’ll probably never have that chance again! Great memories.

  7. We ate flake and chips every friday night growing up. Now I’m in Queensland it’s hard to get flake. I didn’t know the Isle of Wight burned down. Just down the road a little on the corner of the main street, was the Koala cafe (named something different now) but my grandparents used to run that cafe. I must get down there again someday soon.

Please leave a comment!

